About Us

The Geosciences Department, together with its affiliated inter-departmental programs and institutes, serves as the central focus for the Earth, atmospheric and oceanographic sciences at Princeton. As such we encompass a rich diversity of scientific expertise and initiative that ranges, for example, from the measurement and modeling of biogeochemical cycles and global climatic change, to high-pressure mineral physics, to seismic tomographic imaging of the Earth's interior and the analysis of terrestrial and planetary tectonics.

Thomas S. Duffy, Department Chair
Frederik J. Simons, Associate Chair
Nora K. Zelizer, Department Manager

Undergraduate Work Committee

Satish MyneniDirector of Undergraduate Studies (DUS), Chair
Laure ResplandyDirector of the Minor (DoM)
Committee Members: Elizabeth Niespolo and Curtis A. Deutsch

Graduate Work Committee

John A. Higgins, Director of Graduate Studies (DGS), Chair
Committee Members: Jie Deng, JeroenTromp, and Bess Ward

Diversity Committee

NN, Chair

Michael Oppenheimer, Faculty
Linhan Shen and Julia Wilcots, Postdoctoral Representatives
Jenna A. Lee, Rilla McKeegan, and Naomi Intrator, Graduate Student Representatives
Farah Azmi and Isabel Rodrigues, Undergraduate Student Representatives

Visit the Diversity, Equity, Access, and Inclusion webpage.