Presidential Postdoctoral Research Fellows Program

The Presidential Postdoctoral Research Fellows Program is University-wide program that recognizes and supports outstanding scholars primed to make important contributions in their fields. Bringing together scholars across the natural sciences, engineering, social science, and the humanities, the program allows them to deepen their disciplinary expertise while interacting with scholars and engaging with ideas from other disciplines across the University.

These scholars contribute to the University’s excellence and its diversity, broadly defined. The program aims to appoint an average of twelve postdoctoral fellows per year, each holding a one-year appointment renewable for a second year.

Candidates must be nominated by a member of the Faculty who will serve as their sponsor or PI. 

All assistant, associate, and full professors may nominate a candidate and serve as their sponsor/PI. A call for nominations, along with the guidelines of the program and instructions for submitting a nomination, is distributed annually.

Current Presidential Fellows

Francisco Apen
Presidential Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Thermal Ionization Mass Spectrometer Laboratory (TIMS Lab)
Julia K. Wilcots
Presidential Postdoctoral Research Fellow
The Maloof Research Group
Geology, Paleoclimate

Past Presidential Fellows

Tommy Rock
Postdoctoral Research Associate and Presidential Postdoctoral Research Fellow
The Higgins Research Laboratory
Geology, Paleoclimate
Mathurin D. Wamba
Presidential Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Global Geophysics